Resort Highlights - History

EVOLUTION OF A BARN
Mountain Top Inn has enjoyed a marvelous evolution during the past century, engendering a long tradition rich in history. The Mountain Top Inn was originally the barn for the Long families turnip farm in the 1870's. In the 1940's, William Barstow, an associate of Thomas Edison, purchased the farm because his wife, Francoise, wanted an overflow lodging option for guests arriving from the city. Throughout the ensuing years, improvements and additions to the original building were made, however still maintaining the integrity of its Yankee origin and the beauty and ecology of its natural surroundings.

In 1945, William & Margery Wolfe purchased the Inn. They were proud to play host to President Eisenhower and his entourage during a fishing expedition in 1955.

By 1964, The Mountain Top Inn, realizing the terrain was a natural for cross country skiing, began to develop a ski center and trail system. Today, with 60 kilometers of trails, The Mountain Top Nordic Ski Center boasts some of the best cross country skiing in the United States. Since 1983, The Mountain Top has utilized state of the art "on trail" snowmaking to virtually guarantee skiing throughout the season.

In 1977, a fire destroyed the majority of the original Inn. After two years of deliberation, the Wolf's decided to rebuild the Inn using traditional post and beam construction. The large Douglas fir beams which span the Inn lend warmth and charm to the Inn and the large windows and glass "silo" staircase take advantage of the panoramic views. In April of, 2002 a small group of investors purchased the property and have brought The Mountain Top Inn & Resort back to a level of excellence.